Scott Morrison selected as Australia’s 30th Prime Minister

Silicon Valley angel investor group Keiretsu Forum opens Australian chapter
August 7, 2018
ASIC clamps down on dodgy ICOs and crypto asset funds
October 3, 2018

Scott Morrison has been chosen by the Liberal party room as Australia’s 30th Prime Minister.

Mr Morrison defeated Peter Dutton 45 votes to 40 in the secret ballot. Leadership candidate Julie Bishop was knocked out in the first round.

The decision capped off a week of turmoil in Canberra that began after Mr Dutton declared his intention to force Malcolm Turnbull from the prime ministership, saying the party needed to make a change if it was to win the forthcoming federal election, due before May 18 next year.

Mr Turnbull, who became prime minister in 2015 following a spill against Tony Abbott, stood aside on Friday after receiving a petition from a majority of Liberal MPs demanding a ballot to select a new leader. He has indicated he will resign from Parliament, potentially forcing a byelection in his seat of Wentworth.

Australia has now changed its prime minister 6 times since the 2007 election.

Energy and Environment Minister Josh Frydenberg has been elected deputy Liberal leader. Mr Frydenberg will take over from Ms Bishop who had served as deputy Liberal leader under Malcolm Turnbull and Tony Abbott.

The change in leadership means there will be a new ministerial line up.


View the original article here.